Using the Kisi Reader Pro vs. Using the Kisi app
When unlocking with Kisi, there are three ways you can gain access:
- Swiping the button in the Kisi app - by sliding the button to the right, your app will send a signal via the cloud to the Kisi Controller Pro, which will trigger the relay and unlock your door.
- Using the tap-to-unlock feature with a Kisi Reader Pro - The tap-to-unlock feature allows you to hold your phone up to the Kisi Reader Pro like you would a key card, and the reader will scan your phone's Bluetooth (iPhone) or NFC (Android) signal to allow access. When your phone's signal is authenticated, the reader will send a signal via the cloud to the Kisi Controller Pro, which will trigger the relay and unlock your door.
- Using a Kisi card/tag/fob or 3rd party card with a Kisi Reader Pro - When a user is assigned a Kisi card/tag/fob or 3rd party card, that user is able to hold their item up to the reader to gain access. **Note** - Each Kisi card/tag/fob must be assigned by and admin and then activated by the user. Each 3rd party card will need to be scanned and added by an Android device.
Unlocking with the Kisi app has no bearing on unlocking with the Kisi Reader Pro. The Kisi app communicates with the Kisi Controller Pro independently from the Kisi Reader Pro, and visa versa.
Users vs. Members vs. Shares
When you add a member to your place, the email address associated with that member is the defining criteria Kisi uses to create a User Profile. Once a profile is created within Kisi, that profile can be shared access to any number of Kisi places. The User Profile does not belong to the place, but rather to the email address used to create it.
Members are added to a place by the place admin. Typically, when a member is added they are also issued a Share. Members can exist in a place without having an active share, meaning they can be added to any group at any time without having to be added again as a member.
The Share is what allows access to Kisi. Access can be broken down to the Kisi default group "Entire Place" or to any custom group you create for your place. The Share will follow the access permissions you set up for your place / groups.